Research report · geo
Which AI-Visibility Tools Can Your Own AI Agent Actually Query?
A corrected MCP access report: historical totals withdrawn, vendor research preserved, and API, server, tier and read-only distinctions explained.
On this page
An external agent needs a documented data interface, not merely an “AI agent” feature inside a product. This report investigated MCP access in the 27 August 2026 CitedIndex corpus. Its original access groups mixed different questions, and the aggregate claims are withdrawn below. The vendor-by-vendor research trail remains, with the material classification errors made explicit.
Editorial correction, 5 September 2026: separated MCP from ordinary APIs and outbound integrations, corrected absence-of-evidence labels and read-only access, removed the unsupported explanation linking vendor age to MCP pricing, and checked the specific primary pages linked below. No account was created, no MCP server was authenticated or invoked, and no full-corpus pricing or access re-verification took place. The original publication and verification clocks are preserved.
Corpus and method
102 Published listings were captured in CitedIndex warehouse collector run 221171.
86 of those captured listings remain after excluding the 16 carrying the citation-services category in that same run.
This capture was observed at 2026-08-26 22:00:03 UTC, the start of 27 August in Europe/Amsterdam. The original report used both the whole directory and the software-only subset. A managed-service listing can provide an integration, but a software buyer should not treat all service retainers as missing software features. Today’s population is not substituted for either historical denominator.
Limitations and withdrawn totals
The original report asserted 28 of 102 confirmed MCP listings (27%), 27 of 86 software listings (31%), and 13 with “no extra gate”. Those totals are withdrawn as verified server-access findings. The original reconciliation of 28 confirmed + 1 roadmap + 5 unavailable + 68 unstated, and its software-only counterpart 27 + 1 + 3 + 55, is likewise withdrawn. A table that adds up does not validate its classifications.
The problem is substantive. “MCP-compatible” was counted as a shipped server; silence was sometimes counted as an explicit no; read-only access was treated as a restriction even though the stated use case was reading data; “no extra gate” included paid entry plans; and a free read-only option was classified as higher-tier-gated. The registered query only searched live listing prose for MCP outside an old hardcoded shortlist. It could not reproduce the access groups or their historical population. We did not recover a pinned, source-backed classification for every row, so there is no replacement MCP adoption percentage in this correction.
Vendor research recorded at different times is not a coordinated hands-on test. Historical tier names, prices and operation counts below are archived notes, not current offers or evidence that a connection succeeded. The findings that follow distinguish what the cited documents actually establish.
1. MCP support has a direction and a concrete interface
The MCP architecture distinguishes a host, its clients and the servers that expose tools, resources or prompts. A product consuming someone else’s MCP server does not thereby expose its own monitoring data to an external agent. A REST API can be wrapped in MCP, but the possibility of writing that wrapper is not proof that the vendor ships it.
GeoRankers’ Enterprise pricing says “Agent-Ready API (MCP-compatible)”. That is a real advertised feature and a real Enterprise placement. It is not sufficient evidence for the article’s stronger claim that an independently connectable MCP server ships. We withdraw that classification rather than changing it to “no MCP”.
Amplitude’s AI Visibility 2.0 release says “Orchestrate follow-up actions via MCP with your own tools and systems”. That statement does not itself document a server exposing AI-visibility measurements for another agent to read. We leave that particular use case unresolved; we do not claim Amplitude lacks MCP generally.
Method: require server setup documentation, endpoint or local adapter, authentication and the relevant data tools. A marketing keyword alone is not enough.
2. Query access is not write access, and included is not free
Rank Prompt’s MCP page documents a hosted Streamable HTTP server, OAuth or API-key authentication, report and citation read tools, and explicit write operations. It states that Starter and higher, or a standalone API plan, share entitlement with the public /v1 API. Here the API/MCP entitlement is explicit; it was not inferred from the fact that both interfaces exist. This is a documentation finding, not a successful connection test.
Goodie’s current MCP page describes connecting Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or another MCP-compatible client using a server URL from account settings and OAuth. Access is limited to what the Goodie account permits. The old universal requirement for a paid Claude seat is therefore not a sound current description. The page does not establish a universal read-only restriction or a lowest purchasable tier, and we do not infer either.
For the original AI Sightline note, read-only MCP on Free already satisfied the question “can an agent pull data?” Broader paid operations should have been a separate column, not a reason to call all MCP premium-gated. Similarly, Promptwatch being available from the cheapest paid tier but absent on a free plan did not fit the original higher-paid-tier definition. Those inconsistencies prevent treating the old ungated total as a trustworthy measurement.
Method: classify vendor subscription, client subscription, operation permissions and quotas separately. A read-only connector is a meaningful limitation for write automation, not automatically for report retrieval.
3. Self-hosted access has a license and running costs
Canonry’s repository documents both a REST API and MCP/agent integrations. Its FSL-1.1-ALv2 license restricts competing use before the future Apache grant takes effect. The previous “open-source core” description omitted that restriction. Self-hosting and model-provider keys can incur costs independently of a vendor subscription.
The former Canonry note also called it the only free MCP tier while the same table put geoSurge MCP on Free and AI Sightline read-only MCP on Free. We withdraw that exclusivity claim; we have not turned those old rows into a new current free-MCP census.
Method: inspect the actual license and operational prerequisites. Neither a free application nor inclusion on every paid plan means unrestricted or zero-cost use.
Historical vendor-by-vendor research trail
The remaining uncorrected notes in this table describe what the original report recorded, not independently confirmed current functionality. “Included, no extra gate” was the original label for the cheapest paid tier or free/self-hosted core, not a promise of free access. “Not yet” and explicit denials remain dated research notes, not permanent negatives. Rows whose absence-of-documentation finding was incorrectly called a vendor denial are corrected to unknown. No new aggregate is derived from this mixed historical trail.
| Tool | Category | MCP status | What we found |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bloomiro | Visibility monitoring | Included, no extra gate | MCP access ships on every paid plan, including the $26/mo Starter tier, not reserved for a top tier |
| Canonry | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Self-hosted MCP documented | The original note described a bundled MCP adapter. Current repository documentation supports the adapter, but the former “only free tier” assertion is withdrawn and the FSL license is not an unrestricted open-source grant; see correction below. |
| Sleepwalker | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Included, no extra gate | MCP is a native access path from first signup on pure pay-as-you-go pricing, not a paid add-on |
| Rankshift | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Included, no extra gate | MCP/API access is bundled into every self-serve tier starting at $82/mo Starter |
| Trakkr | Visibility monitoring | Included, no extra gate | MCP access ships from the $100/mo Growth tier up (the entry paid plan), not reserved for the pricier $500/mo Scale tier; only the white-label agency portal is a Scale-only add-on |
| Qwairy | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Included, no extra gate | MCP server access ships on the entry €65/mo Starter tier; REST API is the part gated to the €165/mo Growth tier, not MCP |
| Rank Prompt | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Included, no extra gate | A hosted, OAuth-secured MCP server (connects Claude Code, Cursor, or any MCP client) is available alongside API access, which the vendor states is included on every tier from the $49/mo Starter plan up |
| geoSurge | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Included, no extra gate | MCP access ships on the $0 BYOK Free tier itself, alongside a full REST API and CSV/JSON export, not reserved for the custom-quoted Enterprise plan |
| Omnia | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Included, no extra gate | MCP server plus API access ship on every paid tier, including the cheapest €79/mo Growth plan, not reserved for a top tier |
| Keyword.com AI Visibility | Visibility monitoring, rank tracking | Included, no extra gate | A native MCP server exposing 56 read/write tools over OAuth (Claude Code, Cursor, Codex) alongside two REST APIs; the vendor’s own pricing FAQ states API and MCP access are included on every plan with no per-call charges and no monthly call limits, and the cheapest plan is $3/mo Search Visibility billed annually |
| Distribb | GEO optimization, rank tracking, visibility monitoring | Included, no extra gate | A Bearer-token REST API plus a native MCP server (for Claude and Cursor) and an installable agent skill for 45+ AI agents; there is no free tier, but MCP is not held back for the pricier of the two paid plans (Pro $97/mo, Accelerator $495/mo) |
| Orchly AI | Visibility monitoring | Included, no extra gate | MCP and API access ship on both self-serve tiers, Essential ($49/mo, $37/mo billed annually) and Pro ($125/mo); Enterprise adds custom agents on top rather than gating MCP itself |
| Rankability | GEO optimization, visibility monitoring | Included, no extra gate | Agent API and MCP access are bundled into every paid plan, including the $199/mo Growth tier, alongside Serena, an in-product AI search agent; there is no free tier or trial |
| Mentionable | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Gated to a higher tier | MCP integration ships from the €149/mo Pro tier up; the €79/mo Growth tier (which otherwise includes all 7 tracked engines) has none |
| Otterly AI | Visibility monitoring, rank tracking | Gated to a higher tier | Included from the $189/mo Standard tier up; the $29/mo Lite plan has neither API nor MCP |
| AIclicks | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Gated to a higher tier | Read-only API and MCP server unlock on the $189/mo Pro tier and above |
| Knowatoa | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Gated to a higher tier | API and MCP server access included from the $199/mo Growth tier up |
| Promptwatch | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Gated to a higher tier | Ships on paid plans from $95/mo Essential up; the $0 Explore tier doesn’t include it |
| Local Falcon | Rank tracking, visibility monitoring | Gated to a higher tier | Included from the $49.99/mo Basic tier up; the $24.99/mo Starter tier doesn’t have it |
| GeoRankers | Visibility monitoring | MCP-compatible API claim; server unconfirmed | Enterprise pricing advertises “Agent-Ready API (MCP-compatible)”. That does not establish a shipped, independently connectable MCP server. The original confirmed-server classification is withdrawn. |
| AI Sightline | Visibility monitoring, rank tracking | Historical note: read-only on Free | The original note placed read-only MCP on Free and broader operations on Starter. Read-only still meets this report’s data-query use case; calling all of its MCP higher-tier-gated was inconsistent. Current entitlement was not rechecked. |
| Emergine | Visibility monitoring, rank tracking | Gated to a higher tier | API and MCP access are Enterprise-only; the $29/mo Lite tier and the undisclosed mid-tier Plus/Pro plans don’t include it |
| Goodie AI | GEO optimization, visibility monitoring | MCP documented; old restriction withdrawn | Current Goodie documentation supports Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients using account-scoped OAuth. The old universal paid-Claude and read-only requirement is not supported by that page; no replacement tier classification is inferred. |
| RankZero | Citation services, visibility monitoring | Restricted | A documented Claude MCP integration exists, but only inside RankZero’s fully custom-quoted managed service; there’s no self-serve tier to buy it at any published price |
| Conductor | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Restricted | Conductor’s own AI Search Performance page confirms a data API and Model Context Protocol (MCP) server for its Intelligence/tracking data, but access requires a fully custom-quoted Essentials/Growth/Enterprise contract with no published self-serve tier, and MCP access doesn’t extend to Conductor Creator, the separate content-generation module |
| Dageno AI | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Restricted | The homepage advertises “Native API & MCP for Custom Agent Workflows,” but the pricing page’s own itemized feature table shows “MCP / API Access” checked only in the Enterprise column; none of the three published self-serve tiers ($79-$499/month) include it |
| RankScale | Visibility monitoring, rank tracking, GEO optimization | Tier not specified | Rankscale MCP is a real, read-only remote server (Claude/ChatGPT/Cursor/Codex) documented at its own URL; our sourced research confirms it exists but doesn’t pin it to a specific pricing tier |
| Writesonic | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Tier not specified | An MCP integration is listed among Writesonic’s integrations and named in our verification notes, but no tier or scope detail was found |
| Archytas AISpy | Visibility monitoring | Not yet, roadmap | The vendor confirms MCP support is “not yet” available, describing it as a roadmap item |
| Evertune | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization | Unknown, not a vendor denial | No customer-facing API or MCP access is published; “API access” in its own materials describes Evertune’s internal methodology, not a buyer-facing feature This was an absence-of-documentation finding, not proof that the vendor ruled out MCP. |
| AEO Engine | GEO optimization, citation services | Unknown, not a vendor denial | “No public API or MCP integration was found”; access is via the web audit tool or the managed retainer only This was an absence-of-documentation finding, not proof that the vendor ruled out MCP. |
| GEO Tool | GEO optimization, visibility monitoring | Not available | “No API, MCP server, or ongoing citation-tracking dashboard”: a point-in-time audit tool, not a monitoring product |
| GetCito | Visibility monitoring, GEO optimization, citation services | Unknown, not a vendor denial | “No customer-facing API or MCP integration was found on any paid tier”; the “third-party API” in its free MIT-licensed Self-Host plan is a key the self-hoster supplies to GetCito, not access GetCito exposes to buyers This was an absence-of-documentation finding, not proof that the vendor ruled out MCP. |
| Prizvox | Visibility monitoring | Not available | The vendor’s own materials state: “No public REST or MCP API — programmatic access is limited to the embeddable badge endpoint” |
| Addlly AI, Adobe Brand Visibility, Ahrefs Brand Radar, Amplitude AI Visibility, AthenaHQ, auto-geo, BabyLoveGrowth, Brandlight, BrightEdge, Cognizo, Digital Elevator, Directree GEO Monitor, First Page Sage, Frase, Gauge, GeoArk AI, GEOrank, Go Fish Digital, Growleads, HubSpot AEO, iPullRank, LLM Pulse, Local Dominator AI Tracker, LLMrefs, Mangools AI Search Watcher, Meltwater GenAI Lens, Minuttia, ModularDot, Morningscore, Nightwatch, Omniscient Digital, OMNIUS, Peec AI, Percepture, Profound, RadarKit, RankLens, Scrunch AI, SE Visible, Searchable, SEORCE, Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, Siege Media, Similarweb AI Search Intelligence, Surfer SEO, Syntropic AI Visibility Audit, Ubersuggest, VisibAI, Vismore, ZipTie, 5W Public Relations, EdenRank, Analyze AI, CiteLens, Cision AI Visibility Dashboard, CheckThat.ai, TrueRanker, Rankfender, Webglazer, CiteMentor, Big Leads, AI Visibility Report Group, Citadex, ApexGEO, WhyIQ AI Radar, AEOlens, Elmo, Indexly | — | Historical research did not settle MCP server access | These are the original unresolved names, not a current absent-MCP list. General REST API access or an explicit REST API denial does not settle MCP. Amplitude’s cited release describes follow-up actions via MCP; it does not alone establish an externally queryable AI-visibility server. |
What to ask before connecting an agent
Ask for the actual server URL or adapter package, the supported client transport and authentication flow, a list of exposed tools and resources, and the exact plan entitlement. Check whether read tools return the metrics you need, whether write operations consume credits, and whether your client needs a separate subscription. Do not equate an in-product assistant, CSV export or a provider API key with externally queryable MCP.
Custom-quoted access remains a genuine procurement constraint where documented, and read-only scope remains a genuine automation constraint where documented. Neither should be erased just to put a vendor in an “included” bucket.
The earlier narrative that young vendors expose MCP because it is cheap or a funded customer-acquisition tactic is withdrawn. Company age, review counts and funding did not establish implementation cost or commercial motivation, and this report did not test a causal relationship.
Citing this report
The recovered population is dated; the access totals are withdrawn; the individually linked documentation findings are scoped to this correction. Earlier pass notes are editorial history, not independently recovered source snapshots and not evidence of a product launch date. Newly finding MCP wording cannot establish when a vendor shipped it.
Use the API access report for the separate REST API question and the comparison table for navigation. Those live pages have their own evidence dates and are not frozen outputs of this corrected historical report.
Get the next report
New tools rankings and fresh data reports. One short email, one-click unsubscribe.