Research report · geo
Who's Backing Your GEO Stack? The 2025-2026 Money Wave
Ten dated GEO financing and acquisition events through July 2026, separating disclosed terms and company plans from unsupported pricing and survival predictions.
On this page
This timeline covers ten reported financing or ownership events across seven vendors, April 2025–July 2026. It distinguishes new capital, company valuation and acquisition consideration; those numbers must not be added as if they were one measure of market investment. Announcements can establish transactions and stated plans, but not current product quality, future survival or the cause of a later price change. The dated event record is useful for procurement questions about ownership and continuity, not a guarantee about what you can buy today.
The ten events, in order
| Announcement/report date | Tool (our listing) | Event | Terms | Position at the event; not current re-verification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-04 | Peec AI | Pre-seed, reported retrospectively by EU-Startups | €1.8M; the earlier TS Ventures lead attribution was not established by the reviewed source | Financing, not an acquisition |
| 2025-07-03 report | Peec AI | Seed | €5.2M, led by 20VC; report says closed less than four weeks after the April pre-seed | July is the report date, not established closing date |
| 2025-08-12 | Profound | Series B | $35M, led by Sequoia Capital | Financing, not an acquisition |
| 2025-08-12 release dateline | Evertune | Series A | $15M, led by Felicis; announcement says $20M total funding | The page header shows September 12; the embedded release says August 12 |
| 2025-10 | Surfer SEO | Joined Positive Group | Price undisclosed in the announcement | Surfer said the team and workflows would continue; not a current-price guarantee |
| 2025-11-18 | Peec AI | Series A | $21M, led by Singular; company reported $29M total | About seven months after the April pre-seed, not seven months after launch |
| 2025-11-19 → 2026-04-28 | Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit | Adobe acquisition: announcement → completion | $12.00/share all-cash, approximately $1.9B | Acquired by Adobe; integration announcement followed in June |
| 2026-02-24 | Profound | Series C | $96M, led by Lightspeed, at a $1B valuation | The valuation is not capital raised or a survival guarantee |
| 2026-06-03 | Scrunch AI | Acquired by Sitecore | About $225M reported by Bloomberg, as TechTarget relayed on June 4; not officially disclosed | Sitecore said existing customers would retain standalone access |
| 2026-07-03 | geoSurge | Seed announced by investor AlbionVC | $12M; UKTN reported £9.4M equivalent | No verified category-wide seed-size rank |
Three rows describe acquisitions (Surfer, Semrush and Scrunch); seven describe financing rounds, including repeated rounds for the same company. Do not double-count lifetime totals alongside individual rounds, or mix euro rounds with dollar rounds without a stated conversion. The Semrush row retains both announcement and completion dates because a definitive agreement and a completed acquisition are different events.
Three acquisitions, one buyer-facing question: does “unchanged for now” hold?
The three acquisitions documented here raise the same practical question: which standalone terms are contractually protected, and which integration plans remain statements of intent? This article is not a complete inventory of every acquisition in the directory, and an announcement-time continuity statement cannot establish unchanged pricing months later.
TechTarget’s 4 June 2026 report confirms the previous day’s acquisition and attributes the approximately $225M figure to Bloomberg; Sitecore did not disclose the terms. It quotes Sitecore CMO Michelle Boockoff-Bajdek saying existing Scrunch customers would have standalone access and Scrunch features would eventually be integrated into Sitecore. That report does not establish a launch deadline or unchanged standalone pricing in July or September. The official announcement remains linked, but its body was not retrievable during this correction.
Surfer’s acquisition announcement says it joined Positive Group and that founders/shareholders also became shareholders of Positive. It promised continuity for the team and customer workflow. Contemporaneous reporting describes the broader CRM, marketing and AI-search strategy. Neither source establishes that every Surfer tier stayed unchanged through this article’s July observation window. Branding on an acquirer’s site is evidence of corporate positioning, not by itself evidence of a feature migration or price change. The previously unsourced $15M ARR/12,000-customer aside is not retained as a verified transaction metric.
Adobe completed the Semrush acquisition on 28 April 2026, following its November 2025 agreement at $12/share and approximately $1.9B. On 17 June it announced Adobe Brand Visibility, combining LLM Optimizer with Semrush AI Optimization and describing a database of nearly 300 million prompts. That announcement supports an integration claim, not this article’s former exact 289-million input or a claim that every customer had deployed it. Adobe described standalone and AEM-integrated availability. Semrush’s customer FAQ was not readable during this correction; an earlier ‘no immediate changes’ statement must not be extended into a current $99/month guarantee.
Ownership alone is not a reason to accept or reject any of these tools. We withdraw the former claim that all three were the same product at the same price ‘verified live’: no such comparison was performed in this correction, and the article’s own Scrunch FAQ already described plan changes. Compare dated plan pages, release notes, contract renewal terms and export options. The June Adobe announcement is a concrete documented integration milestone; it does not prove that the other acquirers made no later changes.
Profound and Evertune: a shared release dateline, not evidence of coordination
Profound’s Series B post is dated 12 August 2025 and announces $35M led by Sequoia, with Kleiner Perkins, Khosla, Saga and South Park Commons. Evertune’s Series A release has an embedded 12 August dateline announcing $15M led by Felicis and strategic angels, although its page header shows 12 September. Neither announcement explains the other’s timing. We have no evidence of coordination or a probability model that supports ‘very unlikely coincidence’; that inference is withdrawn.
Profound’s 24 February 2026 announcement confirms a $96M Series C led by Lightspeed at a $1B valuation, alongside Sequoia, Kleiner Perkins, Evantic, Saga and South Park Commons. It also introduces Profound Agents and names customer examples. A funding valuation describes that transaction, not independently audited revenue, a complete customer census or proof that it was the first unicorn in every definition of the category.
Capital can fund hiring and product development, but a $1B valuation does not establish runway or guarantee survival. This article’s earlier listing observations recorded Profound Starter/Growth at $99/$399 and Evertune Pro at $800 with a demo-led purchase path. Those are historical commercial observations, not current offers or evidence that investor pressure caused a pricing strategy. Evertune’s own Series A announcement says $20M total funding, correcting the $19M previously stated here. It does not disclose a runway calculation that establishes how long any pricing model can last.
Peec AI: distinguish fundraising, closing dates and product changes
EU-Startups’ 3 July 2025 report says Peec closed a €1.8M pre-seed in April and a €5.2M seed led by 20VC less than four weeks later. July is therefore a reporting date, not established evidence of a three-month interval between closings. Peec’s 18 November Series A post announces $21M led by Singular and $29M total funding, and places launch in February 2025. April–November is about seven months between funding milestones; it is not the company’s age.
The article recorded Peec’s €85/€205/€425 self-serve tiers, but the former claim of unchanged pricing throughout is too broad. Peec’s own 3 March 2026 pricing update says plans gained capacity at the same price or less, along with per-project model/frequency flexibility and free seven-day pitch projects. That is a documented post-funding product/pricing-model change. Its November announcement’s 1,300+ customer figure is company-reported growth, not evidence that a particular round caused growth or that financing never affected pricing. Self-service availability and unchanged prices are different claims.
geoSurge: a $12M seed round with a distinct vendor thesis
geoSurge and lead investor AlbionVC announced a $12M seed on 3 July 2026. Albion names Boost VC, Celero Ventures, Passion Capital, Octopus Ventures and Tuesday VC plus angels from Google DeepMind, Microsoft AI and Signal AI. UKTN reports a £9.4M equivalent and a partly different investor list. Neither reviewed source supplies a defined universe of comparable deals or a percentile calculation. The previous ‘99th percentile’ and category-largest assertions are withdrawn; the announced $12M round is retained.
The company and Albion describe a ‘Corpus Engineering’ thesis aimed at how models represent brands, not only monitoring retrieved citations. That is vendor/investor positioning, not independent confirmation that geoSurge controls model training or can reliably change learned representations. Its funding announcement describes planned research, engineering and infrastructure investment. Plans do not establish deployed functionality, returns or the absence of other product changes.
What an undisclosed funding history does not establish
Otterly AI was described in this article’s original listing research as bootstrapped, with no disclosed venture round. That is not an audited capitalization history or evidence that no outside investor ever existed. We withdraw the claims that it was the only unowned/unfunded tool in the index, the cheapest credible self-serve option, or the second-most-visited listing: this article supplies neither a complete funding universe nor a dated traffic window, and its own wider archive contains lower-price observations. Absence of a financing announcement does not establish a vendor’s cash balance, resilience or freedom from commercial pressure.
A framework for judging what a funding or ownership event means for you
Ten events, four different risk shapes. In order of what to check before you let any of this change a buying decision:
- Acquisition or financing? Identify whether the transaction changes control, and distinguish money invested in the company from consideration paid to selling shareholders. Neither type alone predicts roadmap quality or price direction.
- What actually changed? Use dated release notes and plan terms, not the transaction date alone. Peec’s March pricing update documents a change; Adobe’s June Brand Visibility announcement documents integration. Neither establishes that the funding or acquisition caused a specific customer outcome.
- What is a promise versus a shipping or contractual commitment? Ask which standalone features, exports, service levels and renewal terms are protected. An announcement of a broader platform is not the same as a deadline for migrating existing users.
- Is independence a requirement? Record the disclosed owner and observation date, and review change-of-control clauses. Independent does not mean unfunded, bootstrapped does not mean low risk, and acquisition does not automatically make a tool untrustworthy.
FAQ
Is Scrunch AI still worth using now that Sitecore owns it? Ownership does not answer whether it fits your needs. The June reporting says Sitecore intended to preserve standalone access. This article later recorded Core-to-Starter naming, a Growth tier and broader engine availability, contradicting its own blanket ‘unchanged’ claim. Those historical listing observations are not a current pricing check, a completed product test or proof the acquisition improved value. Review the listing, dated vendor changes and your proposed contract.
Did Surfer SEO’s pricing change after the Positive Group acquisition? The October announcement promises team and workflow continuity; it does not establish unchanged prices across the following months. The earlier €49/€99/€182/€299 observation is a historical rate-card claim, not a freshly verified comparison. Without matching dated plan captures, this article cannot answer ‘no’ categorically.
Is the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit still trustworthy now that Adobe owns Semrush? Adobe ownership neither proves nor disproves measurement trustworthiness. The April close and June Brand Visibility announcement are documented. A statement of ‘no immediate changes’ is time-bounded, not evidence that the $99 plan and all features remained unchanged indefinitely. Assess the toolkit’s current measurement method, limits and commercial terms separately from its owner.
Why did Profound and Evertune announce funding on the same day? We do not know. Profound’s post and Evertune’s embedded release use 12 August 2025, with a different September header on Evertune’s page. Neither source explains coordinated timing. The prior suggestion that coincidence was unlikely had no supporting evidence and is withdrawn.
Is Peec AI’s rapid fundraising a warning sign? Not by itself. The company reported three rounds and $29M total by November 2025, but financing does not reveal runway or guarantee continued self-service. Its March 2026 pricing-model update documents an actual change; evaluate that and the contract rather than inferring safety or danger from fundraising speed.
Can this article identify every GEO tool that has never taken outside funding? No. This is a selected event timeline, not a capitalization census. The original Otterly bootstrap description does not establish never-funded status for it or any complete comparison group, and we have no defensible lowest-price or traffic-rank claim here.
How much has geoSurge raised, and is that a lot for the category? The documented round is $12M, announced 3 July 2026 and led by AlbionVC; £9.4M is UKTN’s reported equivalent. The available sources do not substantiate the earlier 99th-percentile or category-largest label. Compare disclosed rounds with their stage, date and currency intact rather than implying an exhaustive ranking.
Methodology & sources
This timeline separates primary announcements from financial/trade reporting. The earlier edition described checks between 21 and 27 July 2026; that original account is not proof of checks performed in this correction. On 5 September, accessible announcement/report texts were reviewed for the corrections below, without testing products or signing up. Scrunch’s approximately $225M is Bloomberg reporting relayed by TechTarget, not an investor disclosure or an officially confirmed price. Inaccessible announcement/FAQ bodies and missing historical pricing captures are identified above rather than filled with assumed confirmation. See our editorial methodology for the wider sourcing standard.
Primary sources: Sitecore: Scrunch acquisition announcement · Surfer SEO: acquisition announcement · Profound: Series B announcement · Evertune: Series A announcement · Peec AI: Series A announcement · Adobe: Adobe completes Semrush acquisition · Adobe: Introducing Adobe Brand Visibility · Semrush, FAQ for customers: Adobe acquires Semrush. Additional primary material: Profound Series C · Peec March pricing update · AlbionVC’s geoSurge investment announcement.
Reporting sources: TechTarget: Sitecore acquires Scrunch · Search Engine Journal: Surfer SEO acquired by Positive Group · Fortune: Profound raises $96M Series C · TechFundingNews: Profound $96M Series C at $1B valuation · TechCrunch: Peec AI raises $21M Series A · EU-Startups: Peec AI raises €7M pre-seed + seed · Financier Worldwide: Adobe to acquire Semrush in $1.9bn deal · PYMNTS: geoSurge raises $12 million to help brands secure AI visibility · UKTN: AI search visibility startup geoSurge scores £9.4M round.
To see how each of these tools is scored, priced and compared today, start with the index, best AI-visibility tools, or Peec vs Profound vs Scrunch vs Otterly.
5 September 2026 editorial correction: corrected Peec’s closing/report dates and company age, Evertune’s total funding and release-date ambiguity, and Adobe’s stated prompt-database scale. Added Peec’s documented pricing-model change; withdrew unsupported coordination, survival, unchanged-price, cheapest/traffic-rank and seed-superlative claims. The original publication date and event window are unchanged. This was a source correction, not a new funding census, current price audit, product execution or full vendor re-verification.
Get the next report
New tools rankings and fresh data reports. One short email, one-click unsubscribe.