Skip to content
Cited·Index

Head to head

AthenaHQ vs Profound (2026)

Want broad engine coverage and API access at a single self-serve price, and can live inside a credit budget → AthenaHQ.

A flat $295/month plan covering up to 9 AI engines with API access included from the start, metered by a credit pool, versus a free 7-day trial on three engines, after which Profound sells only a custom, sales-led Enterprise plan, the one place its API is offered.

Both checked against their own sites 20 September–18 October 2026 · October AI answer share: AthenaHQ 26%, Profound 45%

Reviewed by the CitedIndex editorial team.

On this page
  1. How AthenaHQ and Profound compare
  2. Who each one is for
  3. Verdict: AthenaHQ or Profound?
  4. Frequently asked questions
  5. Sources and method

How AthenaHQ and Profound compare

AthenaHQ vs Profound comparison
Question
AthenaHQYours? Claim it freeAEO/GEO platform tracking brand visibility across 11 AI models, with content and technical actions.Visit site
ProfoundYours? Claim it freeenterprise comms, brand and content teams that need multi-engine depth and a sales-led Enterprise contractVisit site
The basics
PriceAthenaHQ: free, then $295/monthProfound: Not stated
APIAthenaHQ: YesA documented REST API exists and is included on Enterprise, but on the entry paid plan it is a separately billed add-on with unpublished pricing.Profound: YesA documented REST API with Python and JavaScript SDKs exists, but the plan table marks API No on both self-serve tiers and access is granted on request.
CategoryAthenaHQ: AI visibility monitoring, GEO toolsProfound: AI visibility monitoring
Pricing modelAthenaHQ: Not statedProfound: subscription
Free tierAthenaHQ: Not statedProfound: No
LimitationsAthenaHQ: Not statedProfound: No paid plan has a published price: after the free 7-day trial (ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews), every plan is a custom Enterprise contract. The trial cannot be extended into a self-serve paid plan, so a small team has no way to buy without a sales call. The trial has no exports and no API; both come with Enterprise only.
TagsAthenaHQ: AI Overviews, ChatGPT, Copilot, Gemini, PerplexityProfound: AI Overviews, Brand monitoring, ChatGPT, Claude, Copilot, Enterprise, Free trial, Gemini, Perplexity
What it does
Monitors AI answersAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Optimises your contentAthenaHQ: Yesdocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Generates contentAthenaHQ: Yesdocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Publishes to your siteAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yesdocs.tryprofound.com
Technical AEOAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Partlytryprofound.com
Done-for-you serviceAthenaHQ: PartlyEnterprise plan and upathenahq.aiProfound: Notryprofound.com
Answer engines
ChatGPTAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
PerplexityAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: PartlyEnterprise plan and uptryprofound.com
GeminiAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Google AI OverviewsAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Google AI ModeAthenaHQ: PartlyStarter plan and updocs.athenahq.aiProfound: PartlyEnterprise plan and uptryprofound.com
ClaudeAthenaHQ: PartlyStarter plan and updocs.athenahq.aiProfound: PartlyEnterprise plan and uptryprofound.com
Microsoft CopilotAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: PartlyEnterprise plan and uptryprofound.com
GrokAthenaHQ: PartlyStarter plan and updocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Notryprofound.com
DeepSeekAthenaHQ: PartlyStarter plan and updocs.athenahq.aiProfound: PartlyEnterprise plan and uptryprofound.com
Meta AIAthenaHQ: PartlyStarter plan and updocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Notryprofound.com
Coverage in the vendor’s wordsAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Partlytryprofound.com
What it reports
Names the cited sourcesAthenaHQ: Yesdocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Competitor trackingAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Brand sentimentAthenaHQ: Yesdocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
RecommendationsAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
AI crawler analyticsAthenaHQ: PartlyCurrently limiteddocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Wrong answers about youAthenaHQ: PartlyEnterprise plan and updocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Plans and signing up
Prompt or credit allowanceAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Projects or brandsAthenaHQ: Yesdocs.athenahq.aiProfound: PartlyEnterprise plan and uptryprofound.com
CountriesAthenaHQ: PartlyEnterprise plan and upathenahq.aiProfound: PartlyEnterprise plan and uptryprofound.com
How often it checksAthenaHQ: Yesdocs.athenahq.aiProfound: Yestryprofound.com
Self-serve signupAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Partlytryprofound.com
Access and integrations
APIAthenaHQ: PartlyStarter API access add-on add-onathenahq.aiProfound: PartlyEnterprise plan and updocs.tryprofound.com
MCP serverAthenaHQ: Yesathenahq.aiProfound: Yesdocs.tryprofound.com

AthenaHQ and Profound both measure how AI answer engines mention a brand, but they split on how they price engine breadth and API access.

AthenaHQ is a Y Combinator-backed platform with a single self-serve tier: Starter, $295/month, billed monthly (about 17% cheaper billed annually). That one tier already covers up to 9 AI engines (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot and Grok) and includes API access with add-on credits available. Usage is metered in credits rather than seats: Starter includes 3,600 monthly credits (roughly one credit per AI response checked), so a team running frequent prompts across all 9 engines can draw the pool down faster than the flat price suggests, pushing heavy users toward less-frequent monitoring or a custom Enterprise plan. A one-time ~$25 credit allowance (about 300 credits) is available to try it, but there is no ongoing free tier.

Profound offers a free 7-day trial (ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews, 50 prompts a day). After that, the only plan is a custom, sales-led Enterprise contract, which brings API access, up to 9 answer engines, multiple tracked companies and SSO/SOC2.

The real choice is not "which is cheaper" but what a team needs on day one. AthenaHQ's $295/month buys engine breadth and an API immediately, capped by a credit pool that scales with usage, not seats. Profound's door in is a free week on three engines; anything after that, API included, is a sales conversation with no published price.

Who each one is for

Profound

enterprise comms, brand and content teams that need multi-engine depth and a sales-led Enterprise contract

Watch for: The full 9-engine breadth and SSO/SAML stay behind a sales-led Enterprise contract and cannot be evaluated self-serve.

Verdict: AthenaHQ or Profound?

Want broad engine coverage and API access at a single self-serve price, and can live inside a credit budget → AthenaHQ. Want to try enterprise-grade tracking free for a week and can buy through sales afterwards → Profound. Need an API without talking to sales → AthenaHQ; Profound's API is Enterprise-only.

The digest

Who's winning AI citations. The AI visibility tools we add and the guides we write, by email, at most once a week.

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper to start?
AthenaHQ: its free plan, then Starter at $295/month covering up to 9 AI engines. Profound offers a free 7-day trial and no published paid price.
Which one has an API?
AthenaHQ includes API access (with add-on credits available) on its $295/month Starter tier. Profound's API comes only with its custom-priced, sales-led Enterprise plan.
How does AthenaHQ's credit system affect its real price?
AthenaHQ's $295/month Starter tier includes 3,600 monthly credits (roughly 1 credit per AI response checked). A team checking frequent prompts across all 9 engines can burn through that pool faster than the flat price implies, which independent reviewers flag as a real cost driver for heavier usage.
How many AI engines does each track at the entry tier?
AthenaHQ's $295/month Starter already covers up to 9 engines (ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok). Profound's free trial tracks ChatGPT, Gemini and AI Overviews; the full 9-engine set is Enterprise-only.
Is either billed month-to-month?
AthenaHQ's Starter tier is billed monthly (with a discount for paying annually). Profound publishes no paid price at all.

Sources and method

How we rank

We read every price on the tool's own pricing page.

The digestFree

Who's winning AI citations.

The AI visibility tools we add and the guides we write, by email, at most once a week.

Last issue · No. 1 · 13 October 2026GEO and Content Tools for Agencies, plus 3 new tools

One-click unsubscribe

At a glance

A flat $295/month plan covering up to 9 AI engines with API access included from the start, metered by a credit pool, versus a free 7-day trial on three engines, after which Profound sells only a custom, sales-led Enterprise plan, the one place its API is offered.

The CitedIndex digest

New GEO tools, what their prices did and our latest articles, in your inbox.

Last issue: GEO and Content Tools for Agencies, plus 3 new tools · 13 October 2026