Skip to content
Cited·Index

Head to head

Rank Prompt vs Rankshift (2026)

Want the lower entry price and a documented, OAuth-secured MCP server built specifically for querying visibility data from Claude Code or Cursor → Rank Prompt.

Rank Prompt starts cheaper ($49/month) with a documented, OAuth-secured hosted MCP server built for Claude Code and Cursor; Rankshift starts pricier ($82/month) but tracks nine AI engines instead of six and adds Agent Analytics, real AI-crawler log evidence a prompt-sampling tracker alone can't show.

Both checked against their own sites 30 September–12 October 2026 · October AI answer share: Rank Prompt 6%, Rankshift 2%

Reviewed by the CitedIndex editorial team.

On this page
  1. How Rank Prompt and Rankshift compare
  2. Who each one is for
  3. Verdict: Rank Prompt or Rankshift?
  4. Frequently asked questions
  5. Sources and method

How Rank Prompt and Rankshift compare

Rank Prompt vs Rankshift comparison
Question
Rank PromptYours? Claim it freeA solo marketer or developer who wants one dashboard across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Claude, Gemini and Grok, with API access and a hosted MCP server available from the $49/month Starter tier rather than gated behind a custom enterprise plan.Visit site
RankshiftYours? Claim it freeCredit-metered AI visibility, citation and crawler tracking with unlimited projects and seats.Visit site
The basics
PriceRank Prompt: free, then $49/monthRankshift: from about $86/month
APIRank Prompt: YesHosted REST API at /v1 included on every tier (10k requests/month on Starter up to 100k on Agency Plus). A pass-through API key fallback for the MCP server is available on the Developers page for clients without an OAuth flow.Rankshift: Yes
CategoryRank Prompt: AI visibility monitoring, GEO toolsRankshift: AI visibility monitoring, GEO tools
Pricing modelRank Prompt: subscriptionRankshift: subscription
Free tierRank Prompt: NoRankshift: No
LimitationsRank Prompt: Credit consumption can outrun the entry plan quickly. A reviewer notes that scanning 10 prompts a day across all six engines burns roughly 600 credits a month, four times the Starter plan's 150-credit allotment. Launched publicly in June 2025, under two years old, so its long-term reliability and company stability are still unproven.Rankshift: A new entrant with no submitted user reviews yet on Slashdot or SourceForge as of this writing: no independent public track record to weigh alongside its own claims. Prompts are added one at a time with no bulk-import, which independent reviewers note makes large-scale tracking (hundreds of queries) manual and slow. The built-in Content Brief Generator/AI Content Writer is newer and rougher than the tracking core, per independent testing, and not yet production-ready for teams relying on it as a primary writing tool.
TagsRank Prompt: For agencies, AI Overviews, API, Brand monitoring, ChatGPT, Claude, Content optimization, Free trial, Gemini, PerplexityRankshift: AI Overviews, API, Brand monitoring, ChatGPT, Claude, Content optimization, Copilot, Free trial, Gemini, Perplexity
What it does
Monitors AI answersRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Optimises your contentRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Generates contentRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Publishes to your siteRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Norankshift.ai
Technical AEORank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Not stated
Done-for-you serviceRank Prompt: PartlyGEO & AEO Services (done-for-you)rankprompt.comRankshift: Norankshift.ai
Answer engines
ChatGPTRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
PerplexityRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
GeminiRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Google AI OverviewsRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Google AI ModeRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
ClaudeRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Microsoft CopilotRank Prompt: Norankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
GrokRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Norankshift.ai
DeepSeekRank Prompt: Norankprompt.comRankshift: Norankshift.ai
Meta AIRank Prompt: Norankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Coverage in the vendor’s wordsRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
What it reports
Names the cited sourcesRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Competitor trackingRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Brand sentimentRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.featurebase.app
RecommendationsRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
AI crawler analyticsRank Prompt: Norankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Wrong answers about youRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Partlyrankshift.featurebase.app
Plans and signing up
A month at 100 promptsRank Prompt: Not statedRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
A month at 500 promptsRank Prompt: Not statedRankshift: PartlyBusiness plan and uprankshift.ai
Prompt or credit allowanceRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Projects or brandsRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
CountriesRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
How often it checksRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Card required to startRank Prompt: Partlyrankprompt.comRankshift: Norankshift.ai
Self-serve signupRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
Access and integrations
APIRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai
MCP serverRank Prompt: Yesrankprompt.comRankshift: Yesrankshift.ai

Rankshift and Rank Prompt are both AI-visibility trackers that launched into a crowded field, but the first thing a buyer notices is how each prices access. Rank Prompt's Starter plan costs $49/month ($39.17/month billed annually) and includes 150 monthly credits shared across prompt scans (1 credit each), AI-written articles (10 credits) and Lighthouse-style audits (5-10 credits). A reviewer notes that scanning just 10 prompts a day burns roughly 300 credits a month, already double the Starter allotment. Rankshift's Starter plan costs more to start, $82/month, but grants 150 prompts per day (up to 9,500 monthly credits) from a pool not shared with article or audit generation, a materially larger raw prompt-tracking volume at the entry tier, for a higher entry price.

Engine coverage splits differently than a simple more-versus-fewer count suggests. Rankshift tracks nine engines, the broadest list in this index: ChatGPT, Google Gemini, Claude, Perplexity, Microsoft Copilot, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Mistral and Meta AI. Rank Prompt tracks six: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Claude, Gemini and Grok. The lists aren't a subset of each other: Rank Prompt is the one that names Grok, which Rankshift doesn't track at all, while Rankshift adds Copilot, Mistral and Meta AI that Rank Prompt doesn't cover.

Both list MCP access on their pricing pages, but document it differently. Rank Prompt runs a dedicated, OAuth-secured hosted MCP server, with its own docs page, that lets Claude Code, Cursor or any MCP client read an account's visibility reports and citations and trigger new scans: one URL, browser sign-in, no API key to copy or rotate. Rankshift bundles "MCP & API access" as a feature line on every self-serve tier without a dedicated MCP integration page, but pairs it with Agent Analytics, a feature Rank Prompt doesn't offer: it logs real AI-crawler bot traffic against your own site: bot name, page path and HTTP status, evidence a pure prompt-sampling tracker can't show.

Both are young companies with thin independent review coverage. Neither has the multi-year track record of a Peec AI or a Profound. Rank Prompt launched publicly in June 2025, built by a four-person team of former marketing-agency operators based in Miami; it carries just 2 published reviews on G2 (4.3/5 average), a volume G2 itself flags as too thin for a confident buying decision. Rankshift, registered as Rankshift BV in Deerlijk, Belgium, has no reviews yet on Slashdot or SourceForge at all, and independent reviewers note its bundled Content Brief Generator and AI Content Writer are newer and rougher than its tracking core. The same "young vendor, tracking core more mature than the content add-ons" pattern shows up on both tools.

Who each one is for

Rank Prompt

A solo marketer or developer who wants one dashboard across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Claude, Gemini and Grok, with API access and a hosted MCP server available from the $49/month Starter tier rather than gated behind a custom enterprise plan.

From Free

Watch for: Reviewers describe a steep initial learning curve, with the dashboard and prompt-level mapping described as overwhelming at first.

Verdict: Rank Prompt or Rankshift?

Want the lower entry price and a documented, OAuth-secured MCP server built specifically for querying visibility data from Claude Code or Cursor → Rank Prompt. Want the broadest engine coverage in this index (nine engines, including Mistral and Meta AI), a bigger raw daily prompt allotment, and AI-crawler log verification, and are comfortable paying more to start → Rankshift.

The digest

Who's winning AI citations. The AI visibility tools we add and the guides we write, by email, at most once a week.

Frequently asked questions

What's the main difference between Rankshift and Rank Prompt?
Rank Prompt is the cheaper entry ($49/month) with a dedicated hosted MCP server for Claude Code and Cursor. Rankshift costs more to start ($82/month) but tracks nine AI engines instead of six and adds Agent Analytics, real AI-crawler log evidence neither tool's prompt-sampling scores alone can show.
Which is cheaper?
Rank Prompt's Starter plan is cheaper at $49/month versus Rankshift's $82/month. But Rank Prompt's 150 monthly credits are shared across prompt scans, AI-written articles and audits, and a reviewer notes 10 prompts a day alone can burn roughly 300 credits a month, double the Starter allotment. Rankshift's 150 prompts PER DAY come from a pool not shared with article or audit generation.
Which tracks more AI engines?
Rankshift tracks nine: ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity, Copilot, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Mistral and Meta AI. Rank Prompt tracks six: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Claude, Gemini and Grok. Rank Prompt is the only one of the two that tracks Grok.
Do both connect to Claude Code or Cursor?
Rank Prompt runs a dedicated, OAuth-secured hosted MCP server (with its own documentation page) built specifically so Claude Code, Cursor or any MCP client can read visibility reports and trigger new scans. Rankshift lists "MCP & API access" as a feature on every self-serve tier but doesn't document a dedicated coding-assistant integration the same way.
Which has more of an independent track record?
Neither, yet. Both are young vendors. Rank Prompt launched publicly in June 2025 and has just 2 published reviews on G2 (4.3/5), a volume G2 itself flags as too thin for a confident buying decision. Rankshift has no reviews at all yet on Slashdot or SourceForge.

Sources and method

How we rank

We read every price on the tool's own pricing page.

The digestFree

Who's winning AI citations.

The AI visibility tools we add and the guides we write, by email, at most once a week.

Last issue · No. 1 · 13 October 2026GEO and Content Tools for Agencies, plus 3 new tools

One-click unsubscribe

At a glance

Rank Prompt starts cheaper ($49/month) with a documented, OAuth-secured hosted MCP server built for Claude Code and Cursor; Rankshift starts pricier ($82/month) but tracks nine AI engines instead of six and adds Agent Analytics, real AI-crawler log evidence a prompt-sampling tracker alone can't show.

The CitedIndex digest

New GEO tools, what their prices did and our latest articles, in your inbox.

Last issue: GEO and Content Tools for Agencies, plus 3 new tools · 13 October 2026